Soft skills or natural abilities

What are soft skills?

Sought after by businesses and considered to be essential qualities, these skills can’t be learned from books and you don’t get a diploma for mastering them, but they enhance your day-to-day work and can help you plot your career or reveal your true calling. Manpower’s consultants pride themselves on identifying these skills that make a difference.

Initiative

It appears as though nothing can change the path of this winding river. For us, this image represents initiative, because sometimes you need to have the confidence to take an indirect route to achieve your goal.

Precision

As water vapour crystallises on a window, subtle patterns begin to form. The delicate arms of these ephemeral stars unfurl to a level of detail that is barely perceptible to the human eye but is remarkable in its precision.

Perseverance

Standing firm, refusing to give up and pursuing goals to the end: some actions need a great deal of tenacity and perseverance in order to make everything come together and bring about the desired result.

Flexibility

The plant that best represents adaptability and flexibility is the reed, with its elegant stems that bend in the wind before returning effortlessly to their upright positions.

Creativity

An interplay of light and rocks. Antelope Canyon is a symphony of colours and materials with a supernatural appearance, all created by water and time. The Navajo Nation in Arizona is home to the bewitching treasures of creativity.

Resilience

A sacred plant in Japan and a symbol of reincarnation in China, bamboo has the unique ability to grow very rapidly, giving it remarkable resilience – so much so, in fact, that it is used as scaffolding for building skyscrapers. Bamboo grows in colonies as its rhizome allows the shoots to multiply.

Transparency

Honesty and loyalty are vital traits in many professions. Rays of light dance across the Caribbean Sea, its scintillating surface and soothing clarity reflecting this soft skill with perfect transparency.

Team spirit

The bees’ hierarchical society makes the hive a perfect model of an organization. Over the course of their lives, bees also take on different roles, acting as cleaners, nurturers, storekeepers, builders, guards and foragers. Whether they are working in a team or on a production line, bees work together successfully because they communicate with each other. The key to their organisation thus lies in the communication that fosters their team spirit.

Interpersonal skills

Keen foragers know that the discovery of one mushroom almost certainly means there are more close by. Mushrooms have the extraordinary tendency to grow in circular formations, or “fairy rings” – a term stemming from medieval folklore that tells of fairies meeting in these rings in meadows and woods. For us, these clusters of mushrooms represent interpersonal skills.

Discretion

Discretion, represented here by the mist enveloping the mountains and softening their features, is a desirable quality in a number of roles. It is often associated with self-restraint or even a certain sense of wisdom.

Organization

“A few drops of dew on a spider’s web create a river of diamonds,” wrote Jules Renard in his diary. This poetic vision is a world away from our contemporary use of the word “web” to mean the Internet, the network that allows us to exchange information around the globe and facilitates the organisation of our professional and leisure activities.

Reliability

This unchanging material has always been regarded as a precious metal. Gold adorned the mightiest leaders of the ancient Egyptian, Greek, Roman and Aztec civilizations. In the modern world, gold is used in jewellery and decorations and as a monetary standard, as well as in electronics, medicine and the food industry. Its exceptional reliability makes it an indispensable material.

Soft Skills oder natürliche Fähigkeiten

Was sind "Soft Skills"?

Diese von Unternehmen begehrten Eigenschaften oder Stärken lassen sich nicht durch Bücher oder Diplome erwerben. Sie bereichern aber die tägliche Arbeit, können die Laufbahn beeinflussen oder zu einer Berufung inspirieren. Die Berater von Manpower versuchen, diese Fähigkeiten, auf die es ankommt, zu erkennen.

Eigeninitiative

Ein sich ruhig dahinschlängelnder Fluss. Hindernisse sind manchmal unsichtbar. Dieses Bild drückt für uns eine Art von Eigeninitiative aus, denn manchmal muss man sich auf verschlungene Pfade wagen, um sein Ziel zu erreichen.

Präzision

Wasserdampf kristallisiert auf einer Fensterscheibe zu feingliedrigen Motiven. Die hochfeinen Verästelungen dieser vergänglichen Eisblumen verzweigen sich in bemerkenswerter Präzision bis auf eine von blossem Auge nur noch schwer erkennbare Ebene.

Durchhaltevermögen

Einen langen Atem haben, nicht nachgeben, etwas zu Ende bringen – bis sämtliche Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, um das gewünschte Ergebnis zu erzielen, sind in gewissen Funktionen viel Hartnäckigkeit und Durchhaltevermögen gefragt.

Flexibilität

Wenn es eine Pflanze gibt, die für Anpassungsfähigkeit und Flexibilität steht, dann ist es das Schilf mit seinem eleganten Stängel, der sich im Wind beugt und voller Geschmeidigkeit wieder aufrichtet.

Kreativität

Spiel von Licht und Felsformationen. Wasser und Zeit schufen im Antelope Canyon eine fast unwirklich anmutende Mischung aus Farben und Materialien. Das Land der Navajo-Indianer in Arizona ist von betörender Kreativität.

Widerstandsfähigkeit

In Japan gilt er als heilig und in China steht er für die Wiedergeburt. Bambus zeichnet sich durch ein äusserst schnelles Wachstum und eine bemerkenswerte Widerstandsfähigkeit aus. Er wird sogar für die Gerüste beim Bau von Wolkenkratzern verwendet. Sein Wurzelstock ermöglicht es ihm, mehrere Ausläufer zu bilden und so zu einer ganzen Kolonie heranzuwachsen.

Transparenz

Aufrichtigkeit und Loyalität sind in zahlreichen Berufen notwendige Kompetenzen. Dargestellt wird dieses Soft Skill durch die schillernden Lichtstrahlen, die das beruhigend klar erscheinende Karibische Meer durchdringen und so Transparenz vermitteln.

Teamgeist

In einer hierarchischen Gesellschaft verkörpern Bienen und ihr Bienenstock Organisation. Ausserdem werden Bienen im Laufe ihres Lebens mit verschiedenen Aufgaben betraut: Reinigung, Aufzucht, Vorratsverwaltung, Konstruktion, Wache sowie Nektar- und Pollensammeln. Egal ob Team- oder Fliessbandarbeit, Bienen sind fähig, zusammenzuarbeiten, weil sie untereinander kommunizieren können. Der Schlüssel ihrer Organisation liegt folglich in der Kommunikation, die ihren Teamgeist fördert.

Sozialkompetenz

Pilzfreunde wissen: Hat man erst einen entdeckt, so bestehen gute Chancen, in der Nähe weitere zu finden. Viel erstaunlicher ist aber, dass sie manchmal in Kreisen wachsen, die gemeinhin als Hexen- oder Feenringe bezeichnet werden. Romantiker bezeichneten sie einst so, weil man glaubte, dass sich dort auf den Wiesen und im Unterholz Feen versammelten. Und wir sehen darin eine Art Sozialkompetenz.

Diskretion

Eine Eigenschaft, die für viele Tätigkeiten gesucht wird. Hier wird Diskretion durch Nebel dargestellt werden, der die Berge umspielt und Konturen verschwimmen lässt. Oft wird sie auch mit Zurückhaltung und gar einer gewissen Weisheit in Verbindung gebracht.

Organisation

„Ein paar Tautropfen auf einem Spinnennetz und schon hat man ein Diamantenkollier“, schrieb Jules Renard in sein Tagebuch. Eine poetische Sicht der Dinge – etwas ganz anderes als das, was wir heute als Netz bezeichnen, wenn wir über das Internet sprechen. Dieses Netz, das uns einen weltweiten Informationsaustausch ermöglicht und uns bei der Organisation der beruflichen Tätigkeiten und der Freizeit unterstützt.

Zuverlässigkeit

Das formbeständige Gold wurde von jeher als Edelmetall betrachtet. Seien es die alten Ägypter, Griechen, Römer oder Azteken – bei all diesen Zivilisationen schmückten sich die berühmtesten Persönlichkeiten mit Gold. In unserem Alltag wird Gold für Schmuckstücke oder als Dekoration verwendet, es dient als Währungsstandard, kommt aber auch in der Elektronik, der Medizin und der Nahrungsmittelindustrie zum Einsatz. Seine aussergewöhnliche Zuverlässigkeit macht es zu einem unverzichtbaren Material.