Please select a city in the list
Display shares

Your step-by-step guide to developing a career plan

Developing a career plan and setting career goals help focus your job search. Thinking about what you want to do and what you have to do to accomplish these goals can help you find a satisfying job and career. Thinking this through will also help you make the most of your skills and professional experience.

Evaluate yourself

The first step towards finding a new job is self-assessment. Knowing what you like to do, what you are good at, what your strongest skills are and what is important to you. These points will help you determine what job suits you best. They will also help you market yourself to potential employers.

If you can describe the skills you have and how they relate to the job you are applying for, you will position yourself as a strong candidate for the job.

1
Know yourself

Make a list of skills you have. This list should include the skills you acquired through all your jobs, full-time, part-time and temporary.

2
Identify job interests

To determine the professional field that interests you the most, think about what you really like to do (at work but also in everyday life). Think about professional experiences you have enjoyed. Evaluate what you liked, what you found challenging and what you may have learned from those experiences. Finally, find out about the types of jobs that best fit your interests and know-how.

3
Know what you want

Do you want full- or part-time work? What shift do you want to work? How far are you willing to travel to work? What kind of work environment do you prefer? How much do you want to earn? Etc.

4
Know what you like

Do you like the social side of working with other people? Do you prefer to work in a team or independently? Do you like numbers? Do you like to be creative? Etc.

5
Your ideal job

Before you begin your job search, it’s important to identify the type of work you want to do. Take a few minutes to describe your ideal job, listing the characteristics you would like your new job to have, for example: title, day-to-day tasks, responsibilities, advancement opportunities, industry, work environment, equipment and workplace setting, company size, salary (range), benefits, total hours a week, working hours, distance from home, amount of travel, start date, etc.

Know your skills

We all have many abilities and skills, but it is important to know how to categorize and present your skills to employers.
Typically, skills are divided into three categories:

Transversal skills or soft skills

These skills can be useful in a variety of jobs. Examples include:

  • problem solving

  • written communication

  • organization

  • motivation

  • analytical mind

  • attention to detail

  • socializing skills

  • communication

  • sense of duty

  • time management

  • stress management

  • capacity to adjust

  • self-motivated

  • etc.

Discover soft skills

Job-Related skills

These specific skills are gained and reinforced through professional experience. Examples include:

  • typing speed

  • phone skills

  • computer programs

  • driving a forklift

  • language skills

  • etc.

Personal skills

These skills relate to your personality. Examples include:

  • hard-working

  • enthusiastic

  • punctual

  • honest

  • upstanding

  • loyal

  • dependable

  • ethical

  • etc.

The employability profile

To make it on the job market, you have to know how to remain competitive. This is obviously true for jobseekers, but it's also relevant for employed people, particularly if they have been in the same position for a number of years.

Because it's not just about finding a job, it's also about being able to last in a position. At a time when jobs are being reorganized and transformed as new technologies are created, it is better to have a few trumps up your sleeve. Expanding your focus and increasing your versatility are key to improving your employability, whether you are looking for a job or are currently employed.

Stand out from the crowd

Rarely has the job market been as tight as today. Despite a high unemployment rate, employers seem unable to find the profiles they are looking for. The professional world is changing as technology evolves. Employers seem to be becoming increasingly demanding, and it looks like jobseekers can no longer rely solely on a traditional CV to highlight their experience and skills. Creating an employability profile will increase your chances and give your application an edge. The employability profile can either be integrated into your CV or stand as a separate document in your application file. This document acts as a selling tool, listing your abilities and skills (job-related and personal skills) and your transversal skills.

Discover the most wanted profiles

Writing your employability profile

Writing your employability profile is somewhat different from writing your CV. However, your CV can serve as a solid foundation on which to build your profile because it lists your skills and abilities. All you have to do is link each of your skills and knowledge to the professional experience through which you acquired them. For example, you can use numbers to describe an accomplishment, demonstrate the profit that you generated for the company, or show the percentage increase of productivity, cost reduction or time saved. Your employability profile can also include positive comments on your ability to work with others, solve problems or find cost-effective solutions under tight time constraints. In short, your employability profile has to highlight your performances.

Validate your knowledge

The employability profile is particularly useful if you replaced someone at short notice and were able to carry out your functions perfectly with no prior training, or if you learned your trade on the job. In these cases it might be advisable to obtain a certification validating your skills and knowledge. When you are temping, you are entitled to funding to train via Temptraining once you have worked for a given number of hours. At the end of day, the most important thing is to stay on top of your skills in order to remain competitive and earn the trust of a potential employer in your ability to perform.

Learn more about Temptraining

Develop the skills that employers consider the most useful

Put yourself in the shoes of a potential employer and try to understand their needs. What kind of training will provide you with the skills necessary to land a particular job or continue in your current position? The idea is to question yourself and periodically re-assess the relevance of your skill set and professional experience. This exercise allows you to reflect on your newly acquired skills, on your ability to put new knowledge into practice, on how your personal interests can help you fulfill your role or on the way unsuspected abilities helped you face a particular situation. As an individual, you have to show how you could use your skills to help the company successfully meet the challenges ahead.

Market yourself

Selling your employability profile to an employer is part of a modern approach to the job search. In this respect, don't hesitate to use social media to your advantage, whether you are keeping abreast of innovations in your field by joining specialized forums or using your network to send out a positive image of yourself and your professional skills. Keep in mind that it is crucial to remain professional in any situation and even on non-work-oriented social media platforms. The cards are now in your hands to show that your skills, knowledge and abilities meet employers' expectations. Show that you are on top of the technological advances and innovations related to your profession and position. You can start developing an employability profile tailored to the strategic needs of the company you are applying to.

Bitte eine Stadt aus der Liste wählen
Display shares

Die Etappen für einen Karriereplan

Einen Karriereplan auszuarbeiten oder Karriereziele anzustreben ermöglicht Ihnen, zielstrebig nach Stellen zu suchen. Sie sollten darüber nachdenken, was Sie beruflich erreichen möchten und was Sie für eine erfüllende berufliche Laufbahn tun müssen. Diese Überlegung hilft Ihnen, Ihre Kompetenzen und Ihre Berufserfahrung besser einzuschätzen und hervorzuheben.

Selbsteinschätzung

Der erste Schritt für die Stellensuche ist die Selbsteinschätzung. Sie müssen wissen, was Sie gerne machen, was Ihnen liegt, wo Ihre Stärken sind und was Ihnen wichtig ist. Die Antworten werden Ihnen helfen, die passende Stelle zu identifizieren und sich bei einem potenziellen Arbeitgeber besser zu verkaufen.

Wenn Sie Ihre Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen kennen und erklären können, warum Sie zu der Stelle passen, auf die Sie sich beworben haben, können Sie sich als interessanter Bewerber profilieren und von den anderen abheben.

1
Sich selbst kennen

Erstellen Sie eine Liste Ihrer Fähigkeiten. Auf dieser Liste müssen alle Kompetenzen erscheinen, die Sie sich bei all Ihren bisherigen Vollzeit- oder Teilzeitanstellungen oder bei temporären Einsätzen angeeignet haben.

2
Seine beruflichen Interessen kennen

Um herauszufinden, welcher Bereich Ihnen am meisten liegt, sollten Sie darüber nachdenken, was Sie wirklich gerne tun (bei der Arbeit, aber auch im Alltag). Denken Sie an berufliche Erfahrungen zurück, die Ihnen gefallen haben. Was motivierte Sie dabei, welche Herausforderungen haben Sie gerne bewältigt und was haben Sie daraus gelernt? Finden Sie danach heraus, welche Art Job Ihren Interessen und Fähigkeiten am besten entspricht.

3
Was will ich?

Möchten Sie eine Vollzeit- oder Teilzeitanstellung? Welche Arbeitszeiten wären am besten? Wie weit sollte der Anfahrtsweg zur Arbeit höchstens sein? In welchem beruflichen Umfeld arbeiten Sie am liebsten? Was sind Ihre Lohnvorstellungen? usw.

4
Was mag ich?

Ist Ihnen der soziale/zwischenmenschliche Aspekt besonders wichtig? Arbeiten Sie lieber im Team oder selbständig? Gehen Sie gerne mit Zahlen um? Sind Sie kreativ? usw.

5
Was ist mein Traumjob

Bevor Sie mit der Stellensuche beginnen, sollten Sie wissen, welche Art von Stelle Sie sich wünschen. Nehmen Sie sich ein paar Minuten Zeit, um sich Ihren „Traumjob“ vorzustellen. Notieren Sie nun die Merkmale, die für Sie eine ideale Stelle ausmachen: Titel, täglicher Arbeitsablauf, Aufgaben, Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten, Tätigkeitssektor, Arbeitsumfeld, Ausstattung und Einrichtung Ihres Arbeitsbereichs, Grösse des Unternehmens, Lohnvorstellungen (Brandbreite), Zusatzleistungen, Anzahl Wochenstunden, Arbeitszeiten, Entfernung vom Wohnort, Fahrten und Geschäftsreisen, Antrittsdatum, usw.

Die eigenen Fähigkeiten kennen

Wir alle haben verschiedene Kompetenzen. Deshalb ist es wichtig, diese Fähigkeiten nach Kategorien einteilen zu können und sie einem Arbeitgeber gut zu präsentieren. Die Kompetenzen werden allgemein in drei Kategorien eingeteilt:

Überfachliche Kompetenz oder Soft Skills

Diese Fähigkeiten kommen Ihnen in mehreren Fachbereichen zugute:

  • Problemlösungskompetenz

  • Talent für schriftliche Kommunikation

  • Organisation

  • Motivation

  • Analysefähigkeit

  • Genauigkeit

  • Zwischenmenschlicher Kontakt

  • Kommunikation

  • Serviceorientiertheit

  • Zeitmanagement

  • Stressbewältigung

  • Anpassungsfähigkeit

  • Eigeninitiative

  • usw.

Die Soft Skills entdecken

Fachkompetenz

Diese spezifischen Kenntnisse werden durch Berufserfahrung erworben und ausgebaut, zum Beispiel:

  • Tippgeschwindigkeit am Computer

  • Gewandtheit am Telefon

  • Umgang mit EDV-Anwendungen

  • Fahren eines Gabelstaplers

  • Sprachkenntnisse

  • usw.

Persönliche Kompetenzen

Hier geht es um persönliche Stärken, zum Beispiel:

  • Hartnäckigkeit

  • Enthusiasmus

  • Pünktlichkeit

  • Ehrlichkeit

  • Integrität

  • Loyalität

  • Zuverlässigkeit

  •  Berufsethik

  • usw.

Das Beschäftigungsfähigkeitsprofil

Wer auf dem Arbeitsmarkt erfolgreich sein will, muss wettbewerbsfähig bleiben. Dies gilt zwar in erster Linie für Arbeitssuchende, aber auch für Beschäftigte, insbesondere diejenigen, die seit mehreren Jahren die gleiche Stelle innehaben.

Heute geht es nicht nur darum, eine Stelle zu finden, sondern sich in seiner Funktion langfristig zu behaupten. Angesichts der durch den technologischen Wandel herbeigeführten rapiden Veränderungen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sollte man immer ein Ass im Ärmel haben. Als Arbeitssuchender oder Angestellter können Sie Ihre Beschäftigungsfähigkeit steigern, indem Sie Ihren Handlungsspielraum erweitern und möglichst polyvalent werden.

Heben Sie sich von der Konkurrenz ab!

Der Arbeitsmarkt war noch nie so angespannt wie heute. Trotz hoher Arbeitslosenzahlen finden Arbeitgeber nicht immer die gesuchten Profile. Die Welt der Arbeit verändert sich im Rhythmus des technischen Fortschritts und Arbeitgeber haben immer höhere Ansprüche. Der traditionelle Lebenslauf reicht deshalb nicht mehr aus, um Ihre Fähigkeiten und Erfahrungen überzeugend zu präsentieren. Erstellen Sie Ihr Beschäftigungsfähigkeitsprofil, um Ihre Chancen zu verbessern und Ihrer Bewerbungsmappe das gewisse Etwas zu verleihen! Dieses Profil kann entweder als Teil des Lebenslaufs oder als separates Dokument in Ihren Bewerbungsunterlagen aufscheinen und hilft Ihnen, sich besser zu verkaufen. Es enthält eine Liste Ihrer aktuellen Fähigkeiten und (beruflichen und persönlichen) Kompetenzen sowie Ihre Soft Skills.

Zur Talentknappheit

So erstellen Sie Ihr Beschäftigungsfähigkeitsprofil

Das Beschäftigungsfähigkeitsprofil unterscheidet sich vom Lebenslauf, obwohl der Lebenslauf eine gute Ausgangsbasis darstellt, da er Ihre Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen enthält. Gehen Sie jede Ihrer Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse einzeln durch, um zu sehen, welche Kompetenzen Sie bei jeder Berufserfahrung erworben haben. Beispielsweise können Sie einen Erfolg konkret beziffern, indem sie ausrechnen, welchen Vorteil Sie einem Unternehmen in Prozent durch einen Leistungsanstieg, eine Kostenreduktion oder eine Zeitersparnis eingebracht haben. Sie können die Beispiele durch konstruktive Kommentare über Ihre Zusammenarbeit im Team und Ihre Fähigkeit, Probleme zu lösen sowie schnelle, kostengünstige Lösungen zu finden, ergänzen. Kurz gesagt, Ihr Profil muss Ihre Leistungen hervorheben.

Validieren Sie Ihre Fähigkeiten

Das Beschäftigungsfähigkeitsprofil ist auch sehr nützlich, wenn Sie kurzfristig eine neue Funktion übernommen haben und diese Herausforderung ohne vorherige Ausbildung gemeistert haben, bzw. wenn Sie Ihren Beruf allein durch praktische Erfahrung erlernt haben. In diesem Fall könnte es sinnvoll sein, eine Zertifizierung Ihrer Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten in Betracht zu ziehen. Wenn Sie als Zeitarbeitnehmer arbeiten, haben Sie nach einer gewissen Anzahl gearbeiteter Stunden Anspruch auf eine Schulung. Informieren Sie sich! Unterm Strich ist es entscheidend, Ihre Kenntnisse immer auf dem neusten Stand zu halten, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben und potenzielle Arbeitgeber von Ihrem Potenzial zu überzeugen.

Temptraining kennenlernen

Entwickeln Sie die für Arbeitgeber nützlichsten Fähigkeiten

Versetzen Sie sich in Ihren potenziellen Arbeitgeber hinein, um seine Bedürfnisse zu verstehen und die Schulung zu identifizieren, die Ihnen die notwendigen Kompetenzen vermittelt, um eine Stelle zu bekommen bzw. zu behalten. Hier ist es wichtig, dass Sie sich regelmässig selbst hinterfragen und die Stichhaltigkeit Ihrer Kompetenzen und Ihrer Berufserfahrung analysieren. Überlegen Sie sich, welche neuen Fähigkeiten Sie erworben und wie Sie diese angewandt haben, und inwiefern Ihre persönlichen Interessen zu Ihrer beruflichen Leistung beitragen können. Vielleicht haben Sie in bestimmten Situationen neue Fähigkeiten unter Beweis gestellt. Als Person müssen Sie zeigen können, wie Sie Ihre Fähigkeiten in den Dienst eines Unternehmens stellen und anstehende Herausforderungen meistern werden.

Verkaufen Sie sich gut

Um Ihr Beschäftigungsprofil an den Arbeitgeber zu bringen, brauchen Sie eine zeitgemässe Strategie. Nutzen Sie deshalb auch soziale Netzwerke, um sich auf spezialisierten Foren über Innovationen in Ihrem Bereich zu informieren oder ein positives Bild von Ihnen selbst und Ihren beruflichen Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln. Behalten Sie im Hinterkopf, dass Sie sich immer und überall professionell geben sollten, auch auf nicht professionellen Netzwerken. Sie sind am Zug! Beweisen Sie Arbeitgebern, dass Ihre Fähigkeiten, Fertigkeiten und Kenntnisse ihren Erwartungen entsprechen. Zeigen Sie, dass Sie mit technischen Entwicklungen und Innovationen in Ihrem Berufszweig Schritt halten können und entwickeln Sie ein Beschäftigungsfähigkeitsprofil, das der Strategie des von Ihnen anvisierten Unternehmens entspricht!